Department of Physics,

Indian Institute of Science,




A.K. Sood is a Professor in Department of Physics at Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore.  He holds the prestigious Bhatnagar Chair of CSIR and is currently the President of Indian Academy of Science. His research interests include Physics of Nano systems like nanotubes and graphene and physics of soft condensed matter.  He has published more than 290 papers in refereed international journals and holds 2 US patents and 4 Indian patents.  His work has been recognized by way of many honors and awards. These include Fellowships of Indian Academy of Sciences, Indian National Science Academy, The National Academy of Sciences, India and The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS).  He is recipient of many awards which include S.S. Bhatnagar Prize, G.D. Birla Award, TWAS Prize in Physics, FICCI Prize, Goyal Prize, M.N. Saha Award and Millennium Gold Medal of Indian Science Congress, Sir C.V. Raman Award of UGC, Homi Bhabha Medal of Indian National Science Academy, DAE Raja Ramanna Award of JNCASR, National Award in Nanoscience and Nanotechnology by Government of India, Nano Award by Government of Karnataka and Vigyan Ratan Award of Punjab University. He is one of the Executive Editors of an International journal, ‘Solid State Communications’. 

His webpage is